The Tax Department for the Lafayette Parish Sheriff’s Office mails out approximately 100,000 property tax notices every year in November. The deadline for payment of property taxes without penalty is December 31st each year.

In 2004, the Lafayette Parish Sheriff’s Office partnered with the City of Carencro and the Town of Youngsville to merge tax collection efforts and in 2008 expanded this service to include the City of Scott and the Town of Duson. Tax bills for these government agencies are now combined to include both local and parish taxes so that citizens can prepare one payment for submittal. The Lafayette Parish Sheriff’s Office sends out the tax bills, collects the payments, and then disburses the funds to the appropriate local government. This partnership lessens the burden for the smaller towns and creates a simpler method of payment for citizens. Taxes may be paid by cash, personal check, or by credit card and can now be paid online.

Normal Hours

Monday – Thursday:
7:30 AM – 4:45 PM

8:00 AM – 4:15 PM


Tax office