Sheriff’s Office Presents STM Group With 2020 Citizens Of The Year Award


Press Releases

Sheriff’s Office presents STM group with 2020 Citizens of the Year Award

Wednesday, January 20, 2021

On behalf of the Lafayette Parish Sheriff’s Office and Sheriff Mark Garber, the 2020 Outstanding Citizens Award was presented to St. Thomas More Catholic High School Campus Ministries on Tuesday, January 19, 2021 for its selfless service and recovery of a crucifix from Our Lady Star of the Sea Catholic Church following Hurricane Laura.

The group sprang into action following the storm in September of 2020. Their efforts were initiated by a group of fathers and students from STM, as well as other volunteers. They loaded up their own shovels, chain saws, flatbed trailers, a tractor & more before heading to the devastated area in Cameron Parish.

Thanks to this group of volunteers, the recovered crucifix as well as other beloved statues from churches in Cameron Parish are now being safely stored until they can be used again.

When presenting the award, Sheriff Garber read aloud a scripture he selected: “As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.” -James 2:26

Congratulations to all our recipients! Thank you for your service to our community and for not only distinguishing yourselves individually, but as representatives of your school, the city & all of Lafayette Parish!

2020 Outstanding Citizens Award Recipients:

Glenn Angelle, Anthony Angelle, Josh Bourque, Jude Bourque, Scott Bourque, Brendan Bourque, Richard Brauns, Carl Breaux, Scott Broussard, Reid Broussard, Cora Broussard, Drew Broussard, John Mike Chachere, Michael Chachere, Jack Chachere, Troy Cloutier, Camden Cloutier, Ken David, Barret David, Payton David, Bryant Deloach, Luke Deloach, Warner Domingue, Matt Fontenot, Matthew Fontenot, John Foreman, Sanders Foreman, Kevin Guilbeaux, Braxton Guilbeaux, Brayden Guilbeaux, Troy Hebert, Jude Hebert, Scott Hutchinson, Hayden Hutchinson, Brandon Hyde, Alexander Hyde, Brennon Leblanc, Brandon Leblanc, Beau Lege, Britt Mouton, Michael Mouton, Mark Mouton, Mark Mula, Keller Mula, Father Schumacher, Luke St. Pierre, John Luke St. Pierre, Lance Strother, Landon Strother, Ben Swilley, Hutch Swilley, Bob Templet, Brooks Templet, James Umbricht, Brad Vidrine, Carter Vidrine, Brent Vidrine, Jack Vidrine & Jesse White